Blog 3 – Value of Diversity

Diversity is the essence of what RISE is. Our team is diverse and our mission is to promote racial equality through the experiences of athletes of all ages. For me, I have quickly learned that I am the “young guy” in the office even though the team itself is comprised of people between the ages of 25 and 45. I am also the only current athlete on the team, while all others are former athletes. I have found my identity as a younger, current athlete to be something that is valued at RISE. My opinion, surprisingly, has been asked on several occasions because I am more entrenched in the world of sport than much of the team. I can offer unique perspective such as how particular initiatives will be portrayed by athletes and what is the best way to connect with the athletes on a larger scale. Because my opinion has been valued and my diversity appreciated, I have been able to come to work each day with a great deal of excitement and energy. I have also been more confident in meetings and taken the initiative to speak up throughout conversations with the team because my identity has provided me with a platform.

Leave a comment