Blog 3: Overcoming Obstacles

So far most of my tasks have been online marketing and promotion, using social media platforms to gain mass exposure. Each week we are assigned new artists to advertise, or another cycle for a previous artist. I’ve gotten good feedback from my employer, and other music fans who commented and/or liked my posts as well as messaged me privately. I try to post on different platforms and use as many outlets as possible to get the best results.

Recently, we were given a new task and I was slightly concerned as it was something I had never seen before, an assignment I had no previous experience with. Rather than promote online, we were assigned to market via hand-to-hand. Hand-to-hand distribution entails passing out marketing tools to students on campus, and visit popular local stores and shops and ask to hang physical materials. For this task, we were sent door hangers featuring an artist’s new single. To accomplish this task, I went to specific libraries and classrooms as I figured that’s where the most student traffic would be.

I personally did not love this specific task but that is because of timing. Rather than post online, which is very convenient and less time consuming, I had to go around campus and pass out materials, which took a lot of time away from my studying. For this assignment, the timing was unfortunate because I had an exam and paper due; therefore, spending a considerable amount of time on this task made the task unenjoyable.

Knowing what I know now, I definitely would have handled this task differently. The main thing I would do differently would be to plan earlier. I would have printed out a campus map, including all the buildings and stores, and strategize where to go based on my classes and where I would be on campus. This was I can maximize my time and be as efficient as possible.

Leave a comment